Triton junior Yeo is first team all-state

BOURBON — Triton junior Clay Yeo was named Friday to the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association’s Underclass All-State first team.
Yeo was one of just 15 underclassmen in the state to receive the honor after an outstanding junior season in which he set three program scoring records — the single-game record with 44 points against Rochester Feb. 14, the single season record with 675 points, and the career scoring record with 1,335.
Plymouth sophomore Mack Mercer and Bremen junior Ethan Pike were named to the association’s Underclass Honorable Mention All-State list, while John Glenn’s Josh Anderson, LaVille’s Jordyn Williams, and North Judson’s John Eckert and Winston Yergler were all given Senior All-State Honorable Mention.
In total, 15 seniors and 15 underclassmen were selected for the all-state first teams, while 98 additional seniors were selected as honorable mention all-state and a 89 juniors, sophomores and freshmen were recognized as honorable mention underclass all-state.
Friday’s IBCA distinction comes on the heels of Thursday’s announcement of the rosters for the 2012 Michiana McDonald’s High School All-Star Game at Bethel College Monday. Yeo, Mercer, Eckert and Yergler were all selected to participate in the all-star game, which is scheduled for 7 p.m.