Triton’s Yeo, CGA’s Cvitkovic selected for Indiana-Kentucky Junior All-Star game

Triton’s Clay Yeo and Culver Girls Academy’s Andrijana Cvitkovic have been invited to play for the junior north teams in the first-ever Junior All-Star games of the annual Indiana-Kentucky All-Stars basketball series.
Yeo and Cvitkovic will play June 6 at Pendleton Heights in a pair of exhibitions against the Indiana Senior All-Stars and June 15 against the Kentucky Junior All-Stars at Heritage Christian School in Indianapolis. The girls’ exhibition game is scheduled for 6 p.m. with the boys to follow, and the girls’ Indiana-Kentucky Junior All-Star game is slated for 5:30 p.m. with the boys’ game slated to cap off the night directly after. Admission to the exhibition games is $5, and admission to the Indiana-Kentucky games is $10.
Yeo is a 6-6 Valparaiso commit who averaged 26 points per game last season while setting single-game, single-season and career scoring records for the Triton basketball program. Cvitkovic is an undecided 6-2 forward averaging 15.8 points an outing last season.
The Junior All-Star teams are chosen by Indiana Basketball Coaches Association committees, the 22-member girls’ committee chaired by Scott Kreiger of Fort Wayne Canterbury and a separate 22-member boys’ committee chaired by David Wood of West Lafayette. The Junior All-Stars feature a core group that will play in both Senior exhibitions and north and south groups that will play in one Senior game each.
The boys annual Indiana-Kentucky All-Star series is in its 71st year, and the girls series is now in its 37th year. The program dates to 1939 and has included standouts such as Oscar Robertson, Larry Bird, Damon Bailey, George McGinnis, Jumpin’ Johnny Wilson and Eric Gordon as well as Stephanie White, Shanna Zolman, LaTaunya Pollard, Katie Gearlds and Katie Douglas.
The IBCA is handling the administration of the Indiana All-Star games following an agreement last fall with The Indianapolis Star, the All-Stars’ presenter since 1939. The Star is continuing as a presenting sponsor of the games by providing promotional ad space in the newspaper and on the newspaper’s Web site.
The IBCA has taken over the production of all aspects of the games, including the selection of coaches, players, exhibition sites, support staff, securing sponsors, interaction with players and families, etc. This year’s games have a new title sponsor in Best Choice Home Health, an Indianapolis-based home health care firm that serves families in Indiana and Ohio.
Net profits from staging the games will continue to be donated to various Indiana-based charities, including the Indiana National Guard, the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame and the IBCA Scholarship Fund that finances the group’s annual Marion Crawley, Junior Mannies and Pat Aikman scholarship awards.