Schwenk named Lilly Scholar

HAMLET — An Oregon-Davis Jr./Sr. High School student has been named the recipient of a full, four-year scholarship as the Starke County Community Foundation 2012 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.
Katelyn Schwenk will receive full tuition to the Indiana college of her choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.
Schwenk is the daughter of David and Bonnie Schwenk and plans to pursue a degree as an Addictions Counselor. She is president of her class and has served in that capacity since her sophomore year. She is also the president of the National Honor Society and captain of the Lady Bobcats Varsity Girls Basketball team.
Schwenk organized and created the Fellowship of Christian Athletes Chapter at Oregon-Davis and was an event speaker to O.D. and Culver peers through Pathblazers-Positive Approach to Teen Heath.
This student was selected for the prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship from a field of 15 applications by the Starke County Community Foundation Scholarship Committee. The committee awarded only one scholarship this year. The number of scholarships is determined by the Lilly Endowment, Inc., which makes the scholarship possible through the Community Foundation.
For the selection process, the applications are scored on academic performance, volunteer and paid work, school activities and honors as well as a series of essays. Of the 15 applications, eight finalists were selected for a final interview. These finalists were asked to write an impromptu essay and had a personal interview with the committee. The committee narrowed the field to one nominee and one alternate. These names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for the selection of the recipients.
ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.
The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents older than age 25 with a bachelor’s degree. There were 142 scholarships awarded statewide.
The remaining seven finalists are: Elliott Coad, Brenden Owens and Taylor Quella of Knox High School; John Eckert and Sierra Weist of North Judson-San Pierre High School; Dylan Shively of Oregon-Davis High School and Joseph Krsek who attends Culver Community High School.