Next commissioner will be Compton

PLYMOUTH — The Ma-shall County Republican Party held a caucus Thursday night to select a new Marshall County Commissioner.
Currently Tom Chamberlin sits on the board, but he has tendered his resignation effective Dec. 31 in order to assume the duties of Marshall County Sheriff.
After three rounds of voting by the 18 precinct committeemen present, Greg Compton was named by Republican Chair David Holmes to fill the position for the next two years.
Six candidates had filed a Declaration of Candidacy with Holmes. Those vying for the appointment in addition to Compton were Deb Griewank, John Grolich, Keith Hammonds, Bridget Hite and Jeff Wojcik. Each of the six was given two minutes to speak to the voting members.
After three rounds of voting — in which no one candidate received the required majority vote of 13 — Holmes made the appointment of Compton.
Votes after the third ballot showed a tie between Compton and Griewank with each receiving nine votes. In the first ballot, Griewank had nine votes and Compton had six. Hite received two votes and Grolich one. Results from the second ballot showed Griewank with nine, Compton with eight and Hite with one. Per rules governing the ballot process, the candidate with the lowest number of votes was then eliminated.
Compton, a 1972 graduate of Plymouth High School, is the Branch Manager of Key Bank in Plymouth.
Compton said he has good executive management skills. He also indicated that he would not make the commissioner’s job a full-time position noting that it wasn’t intended to be a full-time position.
Compton said, “The idea in selecting a commissioner is choosing experienced business leaders from the community to provide their expertise. I will be a team leader, a team builder, but not a micromanager.”