Marshall County census stats detailed; council seat numbers change

The preliminary Marshall County 2010 Census figures are in.
Marshall County grew 4 percent during the last 10 years from 45,128 to 47,051. 
Indiana grew at a 6.6 percent rate. Most of Indiana’s growth occurred in the central part of the state.
Hamilton and Hendricks counties were the fastest growing areas of the state.
Where did Marshall County grow? Nine out of 10 Marshall County townships grew with only Union Township losing population. The fastest growing township is North Township which grew at a 7.3 percent rate. The largest township is Center Township at 15,593 (5.9 percent increase); second is German Township at 8,902 (3.7 percent increase); third is North Township (7.3 percent increase); fourth is West Township at 4,008 (3.1 percent increase); fifth is Bourbon Township at 3.152 (6.1 percent increase); sixth is Union Township at 3,008 (-1.4 percent decrease); seventh is Polk Township at 2,824 (1.4 percent increase); eighth is Walnut Township at 2,747 (2.8 percent increase); ninth is Tippecanoe Township at 1,313 (4.5 percent increase) and 10th is Green Township at 1,103 (1.0 percent increase).
The largest city is Plymouth with a population of 10,033. Bremen is the largest town with 4,588; and Bourbon second at 1,810; Argos at 1,691; Culver at 1,353; and LaPaz at 561.
Some interesting demographics can be selected from the data, including the fact that 34,402 of Marshall County’s population is over 18 years of age with 12,649 (27 percent) under the age of 18. Marshall County is predominately white with 40,000 classified as white, but more than 10 percent are classified as a minority. The totals show 220 black; 215 Asian; 1,896 as other; 720 multi-racial; and 3,971 as Hispanic, while 26 counties showed more than 10 percent minorities in the state.
Marshall County townships with more than 5 percent minorities are North, German, West, Center, Bourbon, Union and Walnut townships.
There are 19,845 housing units in Marshall County with 2,439 vacant. Union Township has more than a 20 percent vacancy rate.
Polk, West, Walnut and Tippecanoe Townships have a over 10 percent vacancy in housing units.
The largest school district is Plymouth with 19,601 in its district. John Glenn Schools have 9,917 in its district; Bremen has 8,902; Union-North has 7,986; Culver has 7,034; Triton has 5,968; and Argos has 3,850 in population.
This information is available at During the next few months additional data will be released. This information will be used to analyze growth in Marshall County during the next few years. 
Information provided by Ralph Booker, for the 2010 census
Council seat numbers change
PLYMOUTH — The number of seats on the Plymouth Common Council will have to be increased by the year 2016.
Indiana ordinances re-quire that cities more than 10,000 in population must have a council of seven members as opposed to the five members that make up the Council currently. The final census tally lists Plymouth as having a population of 10,033.
According to City Attorney Nelson Chipman, the seven seats can be formed by having four districts and three members at-large or changing to five districts with two at-large seats. Chipman said the Common Council members will have to adopt an ordinance with their preference in the year 2015 and then the seats would become effective in 2016.
Tom Bredenweg, Indiana Association of Cities and Towns, said Tuesday that Plymouth will have to arrange for re-districting in 2012. Chipman confirmed that opinion saying that even if the council retains four districts, they would have to be “tweaked” since the population has increased. Re-districting is not allowed during an election year and is done in the second year after the census is taken.