Falcons can’t unseat Cougars at NSC meet

NEW CARLISLE — After beating New Prairie three times earlier this season, John Glenn’s boys believed this might be the year to end the Cougars’ 15-year stranglehold on the Northern State Conference cross country championship.
But sometimes, emotions get in the way of a good race plan.
“I think our boys were a little too pumped up and went out way too hard,” said Glenn coach Rob Carrasco, whose team faded badly over the final mile of Tuesday’s league meet on New Prairie’s famed 5,000-meter course.
Despite a solid second-place effort from Luke Runyan and a fourth from Joe Mahank, the Falcons ended up 25 points behind New Prairie when the final team scores were announced.
New Prairie senior Nick Arndt repeated as individual champion, running step-for-step with Runyan through the first 2,000-meters, then surging away over a portion of the course known as “The Snake.”
He clocked 16:06.9. Runyan claimed runnerup honors in 16:20.9.
Mahank clocked 17:07, but then it was almost a minute-and-a-half before the next Glenn finisher — Nathan Palmer — crossed the line in 15th place.
Things looked good for the Falcons in the early going. They were neck-and-neck with the Cougars after one mile and trailed by only a slight margin at mile two.
But the third mile was a mess, and six Cougars moved up to finish among the top 14.
“I wanted us to go out more conservatively and run smart,” said Carrasco. “We paid the price over that last mile.”
Triton ended up third in the boys race, followed by Bremen. Culver Community was sixth and LaVille eighth.
Bremen’s Thomas Dean finished fifth in 17:07.
New Prairie’s girls also claimed an NSC title, their 14th in 15 years.
The Cougars scored 24. Bremen – the last conference team to beat New Prairie — was second with 49.
“I’m happy with that,” said Bremen coach Mickey Gardner. “We knew nobody was going to beat (New Prairie) this year, we just wanted to compete.”
A 3-4 finish from Sara Slabaugh (20:18.7) and Brooke Bahr (20:24.1) carried the Lions a long way. But, as with Glenn’s boys, there was too large a gap between the Lions’ No. 2 and 3 finishers.
Jorgi Klockow placed 14th in 22:24.
“Our 3-4-5 runners do well together, we’ve just got to get them to move up,” said Gardner.
Triton finished fourth in the girls team standings, with Allie Kann placing sixth to lead the way.
New Prairie junior Rachel Thompson won the girls individual title in 19:01.5. Culver Community’s Tori Shank was 11th.
At New Carlisle
Team scores: New Prairie 24, Bremen 49, Jimtown 83, Triton 85, Knox 123. These teams incomplete: Culver Community, John Glenn, LaVille.
Top 20 finishers: 1, Rachel Thompson (NP) 19:01.5. 2, Alex McBride (NP) 19:42.9. 3, Sara Slabaugh (B) 20:18.8. 4, Brooke Bahr (B) 20:24.1. 5, Erin O’Laughlin (NP) 20:33.6. 6, Allie Kann (T) 20:45.9. 7, Heather Shore (NP) 21:17.8. 8, Lexi Miller (T) 21:24.4. 9, Jaylyn Fites (NP) 21:30.7. 10, Maura Romstadt (NP) 21:37.4. 11, Tori Shank (CC) 21:47.3. 12, Raelle Hurtekant (Jim) 21:52.5. 13, Justice Newland (Jim) 22:16.9. 14, Jorgi Klockow (Bre) 22:24.2. 15, Tatum Schultz (CC) 22:36.4. 16, Zoe Heying (JG) 22:41.5. 17, Brittany Sahlhoff (B) 23:06.3. 18, Allison Cullers (B) 23:06.3. 19, Kiley Gimson (Jim) 23:13.3. 20, Kayleigh Craig (Tri) 23:25.3.
Team scores: New Prairie 35, John Glenn 60, Triton 65, Bremen 80, Jimtown 141, Culver Community 162, Knox 166, LaVille 229.
Top 20 finishers: 1, Nick Arndt (NP) 16:06.9. 2, Luke Runyan (JG) 16:20.9. 3, David Kampf (NP) 16:59.7. 4, Joe Mahank (JG) 17:07.0. 5, Thomas Dean (B) 17:21.2. 6, Trenton Stackhouse (T) 17:26.4. 7, Kris Wickens (B) 17:35.1. 8, Justin Baltes (NP) 17:55.4. 9, Trenton Cooper (T) 18:01.0. 10, Bryan Starcevich (B) 18:03.6. 11, Timothy Weaver (NP) 18:06.1. 12, Jared Rose (NP) 18:27.1. 13, Landon Kaufman (T) 18:28.2. 14, Blake Kirkham (NP) 18:30.2. 15, Nathan Palmer (JG) 18:34.2. 16, Nick Travino (Jim) 18:35.3. 17, Bryce Wanemacher (Tri) 18:36.3. 18, Ryan Kulwicki (JG) 18:38.1. 19, Collin Babcock (NP) 18:39.2. 20, Derek Johnston (T) 18:40.4.