C Scows ride the Maxinkuckee breeze

Always a thing of beauty to behold, a promenade of white sails drifted across the horizon of Lake Maxinkuckee over the June 18 weekend, as the Maxinkuckee Yacht Club hosted the 2011 C Scow Nationals here. Andy Burdick and Chris Impens on Team M / I-45 clinched their regatta victory Sunday during the last race, Burdick having also won the 2010 Nationals with crew, Jim Gluek, according to Sail22.com, website of the company which organized the event. Sail22 is also owned and operated by Ed Furry and wife Becky, both of Culver (and recently married here as well!). The three-day races drew 55 teams, who enjoyed use of Culver Academies’ waterfront facilities. Top five finishers, besies Burdick and Impens, included A Jim Tews and Jenny Jaessing; Paul Reilly and Aaron Mann; Brian Brickler and Mike Tyriver; and Will Haeger and Brad Roble.
More photos from the event may be viewed online at sail22.smugmug.com/Sailing-Photography/Scows.