Brotherly love at Northern State wrestling meet

ELKHART — Brotherly love took on a whole new meaning at the Northern State Conference wrestling tournament.
Maybe “brotherly influence” would be a better term.
“My brother lost (the championship match) at 120, and I was going to make sure the same thing didn’t happen to me,” said Glenn’s James Frey after winning the 132-pound weight class Saturday at Jimtown.
Moments before he walked onto the mat to face Jimtown’s Cody Koebel for the title, Frey watched his brother, Andrew Frey, drop a 6-4 decision in the 120-pound finale.
James Frey was saddened, but seeing his sibling fall only steeled his resolve.
“I tried to put it away early,” said Frey, who rolled to a 9-2 victory.
It was a similar story for Culver Community’s Matt Hurford, who claimed the 195-pound title. But his motivation was considerably different.
Hurford’s brother, Mark, pinned New Prairie’s Nick Dobkins for the championship at 182, right before Matt was slated to wrestle.
Seeing his brother win was a huge lift for Matt, who then dominated New Prairie’s Derek Pflughaupt for his fourth consecutive NSC crown.
“I never thought I’d be a four-time champ when this all started,” said Hurford, who scored a 19-4 technical fall. “It felt good to see (Mark) win right before I wrestled, that really gave me a lift.
“I knew I had to win,” Hurford added with a laugh. “I always want to do a little better than he does.”
The Hurfords were two of Culver’s four individual champs. Alan Betts (113 pounds) and John Ahlenius (145) also finished first. Only No. 19-ranked Jimtown had as many individual champs as the Cavaliers.
As usual, a lack of bodies cost Culver any chance for a team title. The Cavaliers had nobody to wrestle in seven of the 14 weight classes, and finished fifth in the final standings.
New Prairie, which advanced eight wrestlers to the championship round, won the team title with 231 points, even though only two Cougars won championships.
Defending champ Jimtown slipped to second (219 1/2), while John Glenn finished third (198).
It was a less-than-satisfactory finish for the Falcons, who entered the meet with designs on a team title.
“I’m surprised, because our seniors did not step up,” said Glenn coach Tim White. “We needed them either to meet or beat their seeds. They didn’t do it.”
Adam Dodson won the 160-pound championship for Glenn. His 3-2 victory over New Prairie’s Wade Young in the finals was the match of the day.
Dodson had pinned the Cougar wrestler earlier this season, but heading into the third period, Young led by a point. Dodson scored a reversal with 1:24 remaining to pull out the win.
“I didn’t panic,” said Dodson. “I’m confident that if I have to, I can always get a score.”
Glenn’s runners-up were Austin Coach (113), Andrew Frey (120) and Alex Saylor (126). The Falcons hope to bounce back in a big way at the sectional.
“It’s a new season starting Monday,” said White. “Nothing that happened today will matter next weekend.”
Bremen finished fourth and had an individual champ in heavyweight Caleb Coffel. He pinned LaVille’s Austin Wilson in the finale.
Jimtown senior Nick Crume (126) joined Culver’s Matt Hurford as a four-time NSC champ.
First-place finishers are awarded All-Conference status. After the tournament, league coaches also awarded at-large All-Conference status to Stanish and Glenn’s Andrew Frey (120).
At Elkhart
Team scores: New Prairie 231, Jimtown 219 ½, John Glenn 198, Bremen 160, Culver Community 137, Knox 100 ½, LaVille 98, Triton 75.
106: Chris Trent (NP) pinned Jarrod Betts (CC), 4:25. 113: Alan Betts (CC) maj. dec. Austin Coach (JG), 13-5. 120: Konnor Chafin (Jim) dec. Andrew Frey (JG), 6-4. 126: Nick Crume (Jim) tech. fall Alex Saylor (JG), 21-2. 132: James Frey (JG) dec. Cody Koebel (Jim), 9-2. 138: Jake Krause (K) pinned Jarren Young (NP), 3:32. 145: John Ahlenius (CC) dec. Cody MacLeod (NP), 8-6. 152: Dalton Escobedo (NP) pinned Cameron Weiss (Jim), 4:46. 160: Adam Dodson (JG) dec. Wade Young (NP), 3-2. 170: Tanner Adams (Jim) pinned Chris Baley (LV), 3:27. 182: Mark Hurford (CC) pinned Nick Dobkins (NP), 2:59. 195: Matt Hurford (CC) tech. fall Derek Pflughaupt (NP), 19-4. 220: Cody Spurgeon (Jim) dec. Dan Stanish (NP), 3-2. 285: Caleb Coffel (Bre) pinned Austin Wilson (LV), 2:39.
(For 3rd place)
106: Devon Becker (JG) dec. Joseph Soriano (Tri), 7-2. 113: Cole Spaid (Bre) pinned Austin Wagers (Tri), 1:36. 120: Joey Bailey (Bre) dec. Austin Brissette (CC), 4-2. 126: Bryan Hunsberger (LV) dec. Tyler Felton (Bre), 5-3. 132: Eric Brown (NP) pinned Bren Thorntown (Bre), 2:40. 138: Marquis Schieber (Jim) pinned Ryan Ishmael (JG), 1:46. 145: Josh Fuchs (Bre) dec. Eric Dan (K), 5-4. 152: Kevin Land (K) dec. Ben Norton (LV), 14-7. 160: John Hurtt (Jim) pinned Devin Johnson (LV), 4:37. 170: Joel Miller (Bre) pinned Colin Grounds (NP), 4:32. 182: Cody Wielgos (K) dec. Mason Strycker (JG), 4-2. 195: Mike Sustaita (K) pinned Corey Delator (Jim), 1:30. 220: Jacob Ayers (JG) pinned Randy Shoaf (Bre), 1:24. 285: Ben Davis (Jim) pinned Wayne Kneifel (NP), 2:03.
All-Conference At Large: Dan Stanish (NP), Andrew Frey (JG).