Bremen’s Stouder, LaVille’s Amor, Triton’s Cooper awarded IBCA Crawley Scholarships

INDIANAPOLIS — Three area basketball players were selected for Marion Crawley Scholarships as the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association announced winners for the Crawley, Junior Mannies and Pat Aikman Awards Tuesday.
Bremen’s Megan Stouder was named as one of 16 girls and LaVille’s Nicholas Amor and Triton’s Trenton Cooper were chosen as two of 12 boys players awarded 2013 Crawley Scholarships. Additionally, three student managers and three cheerleaders were named recipients of the annual scholarship awards.
Criteria for the Crawley Scholarship includes achievement in basketball, achievement in academics, participation in extracurricular activities and service to one’s school and community.
Crawley was a former four-time boys basketball state championship coach — two with the Washington Hatchets and two with the Lafayette Jeff Bronchos — who amassed 644 career wins. He later became the first executive director of the IBCA.
“I would like to congratulate you for being selected as a recipient,” IBCA executive director Steve Witty wrote in informing winners of the various selections. “... Thanks for your contributions to Indiana high school basketball, and best of luck as you move on to the college of your choice.”
In addition to the 34 total Crawley Scholarship winners, the IBCA awarded two Junior Mannies Scholarships, awarded to students with physical handicaps who have contributed to their school’s basketball programs as well as four Pat Aikman Awards.
The IBCA —a statewide coaches group with more than 2,600 members — presents grants of $750 to each recipient in the names of Crawley, Mannies and Aikman. Through the years, the IBCA has awarded more than $545,000 in scholarships to Indiana students.
“These are deserving young people who help make coaching a great profession,” Witty said of the winners.
Below is a complete list of Tuesday’s IBCA scholarship winners.
Boys Players
Student, School, Coach
Nicholas Amor, LaVille, Michael Edison
Mitchell Baker, East Central, David Disbro
Cristian Barron, Goshen, Brian Bechtel
Phil Beaver, Hamilton Heights, Chad Ballenger
Drew Benedict, Columbia City, Chris Benedict
Logan Coffman, Cowan, Mike King
Trenton Cooper, Triton, Jason Groves
Nate Messier, Jasper, John Goebel
Greg Ogden, Noblesville, David McCollough
John Padgett, Perry Meridian, Brent Keck
Wade Stallings, North Central, Doug Mitchell
Thomas Starks, Fort Wayne Concordia Lutheran, Josh Eggold
Girls Players
Student, School, Coach
Hanna Ballard, Columbus North, Pat McKee
Brittany Camden, Rising Sun, Noel Bostic
Brittany Davis, Fremont, Neal Frantz
Breanne Dunigan, Shenandoah, Chelsea Kilian
Taylor Equihua, Crown Point, Annie Equihua
Hannah Franklin, Randolph Southern, Jerimy Stephan
Tylissa Fulgham, Highland, Tracie Mezera
Quila Jackson, Fort Wayne Northrop, Andrew Wyss
Amanda Jacob, Forest Park, Marty Niehaus
Taylor Johnson, Beech Grove, Denise McClanahan
Symphony LeJeune, Corydon Central, Michael Uhl
Bailey Smith, Speedway, Jordan Dever
Megan Strouder, Bremen, Tonja Lucchese
Danielle Thompson, Oak Hill, Todd Law
Kayla Uhl, Corydon Central, Michael Uhl
Erin West, Lafayette Jeff, Geoff Salmon
Student Managers: Student, School, Coach
Derek Bedka, South Central (Union Mills), Rick Budka
Jakob Fischer, Zionsville, Shaun Busick
Erin Lattimer, Fishers, Michael Gaines
Cheerleaders: Student, School, Coach
Jessica Logsdon, Corydon Central, Jamie Kolkmeier
Abigail Risley, East Central, David Disbro
Allyson Ross, Tippecanoe Valley, Bill Patrick
Student, School, Coach
Rachel Jennings, Logansport, Jerry Hoover
Max McAuley, Noblesville, David McCollough
Courtney Perkins, Mitchell, Matt Sowders
Noah Reed, Huntington North, Rob Irwin
Student, School, Coach
Ryan Poor, Fort Wayne Concordia Lutheran, Josh Eggold
Tyler Davis, Barr-Reeve, Bryan Hughes