Bremen’s Jordan receives IHSAA’s Cato Scholarship

BREMEN — Bremen’s Jack Jordan has been selected as one of 12 senior student-athletes to receive the Indiana High School Athletic Association’s 2012 C. Eugene Cato Memorial Scholarship Award.
Each individual will receive a $2,500 scholarship for their prep accomplishments and will be recognized on Thursday, April 12 at the Indiana Roof Ballroom in downtown Indianapolis as part of the Brady Sports Achievement Awards established by Methodist Sports Medicine.
To reward the efforts of Indiana’s complete student-athletes, the IHSAA, Methodist Sports Medicine — The Orthopedic Specialists, the Indianapolis Colts and Sport Graphics, Inc. have partnered in sponsoring the program. These well-rounded, positive role models have demonstrated excellence in academics, school and community involvement, character, sportsmanship and citizenship.
Jordan has lettered in cross country every year of his high school career at Bremen. and has also earned three letters in track and two in swimming, all while maintaining a 4.05 GPA. He will graduate as BHS valedictorian this spring and serves as class president and treasurer of the National Honor Society.
Jordan is an active member of marching band and Academic Super Bowl, but his leadership goes beyond the walls of Bremen as he volunteers at the Boys and Girls Club, in community food drives and the Congressional Election Campaign.
He is the son of Jack and Hope Jordan.
Each Cato scholarship recipient completed and submitted a formal application and had to meet certain criteria to qualify including: being enrolled and participating in interscholastic athletics at an IHSAA member school during the 2011-12 school year; being a senior at an IHSAA member school who will graduate during the 2011-12 school year; winning a varsity letter as an athlete in at least one of the 20 IHSAA-sanctioned athletic programs; being nominated by the school’s principal; carrying a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale or the equivalent; having no violations of the school’s athletic code of conduct; not having been ejected from any IHSAA contest due to unsportsmanlike behavior, and verifying that he/she has made a commitment to remain substance-free throughout high school.
A panel of five individuals decided upon the final recipients.
The scholarship program is named in tribute to the late former Commissioner C. Eugene Cato who led the IHSAA from 1983-1995.
“Gene” also served as assistant commissioner of the Association from 1976 to 1983. His passion for athletics and his belief in the intrinsic value of athletic competition on the formation of a child’s character enabled Gene to positively impact generations of young men and women with his well-known “Firm, Fair, and Friendly” approach to caring for others. He passed away in 2008.
Since 2003-04, the IHSAA has recognized 101 outstanding student-athletes with scholarships totaling $252,500.
NFL Hall of Fame quarterback and retired broadcaster Bob Griese, a native of Evansville, will serve as the keynote speaker for the April 12 awards dinner. Griese and former Purdue University head football coach Joe Tiller will receive Lifetime Achievement Awards that evening.
2012 IHSAA /
C. Eugene Cato Memorial Scholarship Award-winners
Kent Burton Caston High School
JoJo Daghe Speedway High School
Philip Gerber Bluffton High School
Jack Jordan Bremen High School
Ann Kuntz Oldenburg Academy
Bradley Moorhead South Dearborn High School
Zak Nusbaum Hamilton High School
Carissa Pekny West Lafayette High School
Julie Riggins Bloomfield High School
Abby Rogers Bloomington High School North
Rebecca Wornhoff Lebanon High School
Tyler Ziliak Gibson Southern High School