Bremen’s Hall wins state

INDIANAPOLIS — Bremen’s Abraham Hall scored a takedown over Elkhart Central’s Dominique Stauffer with 1:08 remaining for a 3-1 decision and the heavyweight championship at the 74th Annual IHSAA State Wrestling Finals Saturday.
Hall, who entered the finals ranked No. 2 in the state by, beat No. 1-rated Kaden Suter of Martinsville in triple overtime in the semifinals to advance to the title match before finishing off an unblemished 50-0 season with the championship. He was also named the winner of the Ward E. Brown Mental Attitude Award.
Culver Community junior Matt Hurford placed fifth in the 182-pound class with a 5-1 decision over Dalton Brandenstein of Evansville Mater Dei, meanwhile.
Culver Military’s Kayla Miracle made history by becoming the first female wrestler to qualify for the state meet before falling in the first round of the 106-pound competition Friday, while teammate Anthony McHugh earned a second trip to the finals at 132 pounds.

For more in-depth coverage of the state finals, check out tomorrow's edition of the Pilot News.

At Indianapolis
106: Stevan Micic (Hanover Central) dec. Nathan Boston (Lawrence North), 6-4; 113: Jarred Brooks (Warsaw) maj dec. Schuyler Phillips (Yorktown), 18-6; 120: Paul Petrov (Hanover Central) dec. Brenden Campbell (New Castle), 14-11; 126: Kyle Ayersman (Lake Central) dec. Cody LeCount (Perry Meridian), 1-0; 132: Jared McKinley (Perry Meridian) dec. Todd Batt (South Adams), 9-2.
138: Devon Jackson (Yorktown) maj dec. Josh Farrell (Greenfield Central), 12-2; 145: Jason Tsirtsis (Crown Point) tech fall Vincent Corsaro (Indianapolis Cathedral), 22-7; 152: Isaiah Bradley (Muncie South) dec. Luke Kriech (Franklin Community), 2-1; 160: Brian Harvey (Indianapolis Cathedral) maj dec. Connor Robinson (New Palestine), 12-4; 170: Sean Mappes (Center Grove) dec. Jake Massengale (Perry Meridian), 7-6.
182: Tanner Lynde (Delphi) dec. Lukas Schaeffer (Westfield), 8-1; 195: Mitch Sliga (Fishers) pinned Kourtney Berry (Merrillville), 3:21; 220: Tyler Kral (Crown Point) dec. Joe Gallegos (Clay), 3-2; 285: Abraham Hall (Bremen) dec. Dominique Stauffer (Elkhart Central), 3-1;
106: Hayden Lee (Garrett) dec. Sawyer Miller (South Adams), 5-2; 113: Brandon James (Perry Meridian) dec. Darden Schurg (Crown Point), 6-1; 120: Mason Todd (Pendleton Hts.) dec. Adam Garcia (Merrillville), 6-4; 126: Nick Crume (Jimtown) maj dec. Robert Boston (Lawrence North), 9-1; 132: Tommy Forte (Mishawaka) dec. Luke Blanton (Alexandria), 18-10.
138: Alex Griffin (McCutcheon) dec. Jake Lannert (Evansville Mater Dei), 2-0 in OT; 145: Blake Giffin (South Dearborn) dec. Brooks Faurote (Bellmont), 9-5; 152: Austin McCloskey (Western Boone) dec. Quincy Richey (Brown County), 6-2 in OT; 160: Kirk Johnson (Perry Meridian) dec. Swade Oser (Heritage Hills), 5-3; 170: Anthony Linnear (FW North Side) won by injury def over Tyler Willis (Indianapolis Cathedral).
182: Christian Winkle (Twin Lakes) maj dec. C.J. Martin (Perry Meridian), 12-4; 195: Dane Maurer (Evansville Mater Dei) dec. Ben Baker (Bellmont), 3-2; 220: Gelen Robinson (Lake Central) dec. Aaron See (Northview), 5-2; 285: Eric Hemmelgarn (Jay County) dec. Kaden Suter (Martinsville), 4-3;
Fifth place
182: Matt Hurford (Culver Community) dec. Dalton Brandenstein (Evansville Mater Dei), 5-1