BHSAA holds 117th meeting

BOURBON — The 117th meeting of the Bourbon High School Alumni Association was held in the Matchett Senior Center Saturday May 19. Classes graduating in the years ending 2 and 7 were the honored classes. There were 171 alumni and guests present. Greeters for the evening were from the 50-year class of 1962 and included Don Hall, and Chet and Jane Hall. The hostess was Connie Neidig Kuntz class of 1962, and the prayer was by Richard Bellman, also class of 1962.
Chet Hall led the pledge to the flag, and also honored all the veterans from each war.
The meal was prepared by the American Legion Ladies Auxiliary and served by the Young Adults Class from the Pentecostal Church.
President Frances Carter Berkey, class of 1958 thanked all the greeters, the hostess, the registration committee of Carolyn Schaetzle Hanley and Mary Miner Hartle, and the officers, Vice President Mary Miner Hartle, Secretary Jean Ann Dinkledine Dennie, and Treasurer Carolyn Schaetzle Hanley.
The secretary’s and treasurer’s reports were read and approved, and it was noted that there are still BHS books left for $10.
The scholarship award for 2012 was presented to Sydney Gochenour who will attend Indiana University. Her grandfathers, Jerry Kuntz class of 1962 and Larry Gochenour 1964, Triton’s first graduating class, presented her with the award.
The 2008 winner TJ Carpenter is a graduate of Ball State, 2009 winner Joel Meister is a senior at Purdue, 2010 winner Darius Stevens is a junior at Ball State, and 2011 winner is Jodie Lemler, a sophomore at Ball State, who also sent an informative letter which was read.
The alumni association is very grateful to the Triton Athletic Booster Club for its donation of $3,237.41 to the scholarship fund.
Larry and Sharon Lemler again brought honor year senior pictures much to the enjoyment of everyone. They are to be commended for preserving and sharing so much history of Bourbon.
Frances Berkey and Mary Hartle read a poem and a list of the deceased since last year, followed by a moment of silence and a prayer by Carolyn Hanley.
Phyllis Houser Stackhouse, class of 1942 celebrated her birthday, and newlyweds Richard Thacker and Dixie Stewart Thacker were introduced.
The oldest person attending was from the class of 1934, Catherine Seymour Martin.
Max and Annette Patterson, class of 1941 and 1943 traveled the farthest from Pullman, Wash., a distance of 1,953 miles.
The honor classes ending in 2 and 7 were introduced and the class with the highest percentage present was the 60-year class of 1952 with 62 percent. All other alumni members were also introduced.
Katherine Reed Weissert left a donation to the alumni in her will. She also was the original one who wrote the words to the Bourbon Comet fight song, and Jean Miller Barrett played and Ruth Schaetzle Nifong led the group in singing.
The 2013 alumni will be held in the Matchett Center May 18.