Bales named IBCA Bob King Coach of the Year

PLYMOUTH — Plymouth boys basketball coach Ryan Bales has been selected as one of six Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Bob King Coaches of the Year, it was announced Tuesday.
Honors are awarded according to IHSAA district boundaries, and Bales was one of two coaches to receive the distinction in District 1, along with Mike Hackett of Munster.
In his second season at the helm of Plymouth, Bales guided the Pilgrims to a 21-4 record and the team’s first sectional championship since 2010. He is 37-10 in two seasons with the Pilgrims since taking over for Kevin Stuckmeyer in 2011.
In eight total seasons as a head coach, Bales has compiled a 121-62 record with three sectional championships and one regional crown.
A 1995 graduate of North Judson-San Pierre High School, Bales is a member of the 1,000-point club with the Bluejays with 1,093 career points, including 458 in his senior season as he helped power the Jays to the program’s best-ever finish of 25-2 and the West Lafayette Semistate championship game under the old single-class state tournament format. He went on to play collegiately at Bethel College, where he helped the Pilots capture two NAIA national championships.
After graduating from Bethel in 2000, Bales served as an assistant coach for Pilots head coach Mike Lightfoot for a season before moving to Noblesville as an assistant to Dave McCollough for five seasons.
He became the head coach at Caston for one season, then followed as head coach at North Judson for five seasons before moving to Plymouth in the fall of 2011.
Over the last five seasons, Bales’ teams have compiled a combined 94-25 record.
Bales has also been chosen to serve as an assistant coach for the 2013 Indiana Junior All-Stars.
His past coaching honors include a stint in the Indiana East-West All-Star Game in 2010, and as coach of the South Bend Tribune Area All-Star Team in 2011.
He is joined by five other Bob King Coaches of the Year across the state in Hackett, Tipton’s Brad Dickey, Mt. Vernon’s Steve Lynch, Columbus East’s Brent Chitty and Evansville Harrison’s Bryan Speer. IBCA voting took place from late January through mid-February.