Argos coach VanDerWeele receives Ball State honor 2nd straight year

ARGOS — Argos boys soccer coach Todd VanDerWeele has been named the 2012 Ball State University Alumnus Soccer Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year, it was announced Tuesday.
VanDerWeele was selected by a vote of other Ball State alumni head soccer coaches at Indiana high schools. A 1995 graduate of Ball State, he guided the Dragons to a 19-2-1 record with repeat sectional and regional titles and the program’s first Northern Indiana Soccer Conference championship since 1998.
The Ball State University Alumni Association Coach of the Year Award was first given in 1957. However, in 1997 the awards program was expanded to include all boys and girls IHSAA-sanctioned sports. Alumni who received their bachelor’s degree from Ball State are eligible to receive the award, and awards are based on the voting of other Ball State alumni head coaches in their respective sports within the state of Indiana.