Indiana Chamber honors legislators who champion small businesses

INDIANAPOLIS — For their hard work and dedication to improving Indiana's small business climate, four state legislators were awarded the Indiana Chamber's Small Business Champion Award at a recent luncheon ceremony in downtown Indianapolis. The award is based on voting and advocacy during the 2011 legislative session.
The 2011 Small Business Champions are:
• Sen. Ed Charbonneau (R-Valparaiso), District 5;
• Sen. Frank Mrvan, Jr. (D-Hammond), District 1;
• Rep. Doug Gutwein (R-Francesville), District 16; and
• Rep. Steve Stemler (D-Jeffersonville), District 71.
"Today we're honoring four state legislators who understand and appreciate the fact that Hoosier businesses - particularly small businesses - cannot flourish with a government constantly blocking their way. These legislators have demonstrated this vital understanding through their voting records and work at the Statehouse," said Indiana Chamber President Kevin Brinegar. "Each one has shown support for the vital economic growth and job creation tools our state needs."
The Small Business Champion awards have been given annually since 1993.
The honors were presented at the Chamber's 2012 Central Indiana Legislative Preview luncheon, which featured a panel discussion by General Assembly caucus leaders on what to expect during the 2012 session. Additionally, the Indiana Chamber provided a business community viewpoint on key public policy and offered a sneak peak of a long-range economic development plan for the state, to be unveiled in spring 2012.