Drill team kicks off fair with patriotic theme

ARGOS — As it has done since 2002, the Marshall County 4-H Drill Team presented a program to honor the men and women of the Armed Forces, opening the Marshall County 4-H Fair Sunday night.
The team, lead by Harry Eskridge, has been using the opportunity to show their patriotism. One of the speakers for the event was State Representative Nancy Dembowski, who has also been invited to the event for the last several years.
“This is a perfect example of an American community,” she said. “I want to recognize the drill team for the outstanding service by displaying confidence, responsibility, skills in leadership, and building citizenship. These are all the things our country needs right now.”
In addition to the drill team equestrian performance, the ceremony included an honor guard from Grissom Air Force Base, a fly-over escorted by Tom Flynn of Plymouth; the North Judson American Legion; the Plymouth National Guard; and the Culver Pipe and Drums.
Guest speakers for the annual event was Sandy Parker, Rochester Chamber of Commerce; Mike Wolffington, director of Marshall County Tourism; Dembowski; and Jack Roose, Marshall County commissioner.
The Culver bagpipers were a new addition to the program. Participating in the music offering were Brent Van Norman, Linda Van Norman, Harnish Van Doran, Jerry Howard, Curt Heydt, Clint Maddox, Josh Benke, and Mike Maddox.
Maddox said, “It is an honor to give salute to our armed Forces who are protecting our rights.”
Flynn, president of the Plymouth Board of Aviation was especially pleased to be a part of the ceremony. For many years, Plymouth Airport Manger Ron Ritter had done the flyover. Since Ritter retired, Eskridge asked the Mentone Flying Club to help out. Joining Flynn was Plymouth Airport Manager Dave Lattimer.
Flynn’s son Thomas is a 2010 graduate of the United States Navel Academy. At this time, he is in jet flight training in Texas. His primary flight training will be with the jets known as “tail hooks.”
Tom Flynn said, “I am proud of Thomas and all of those serving in the military.”
After the program by the drill team, Eskridge said, “They really nailed that.”
Members of the team include: Matt Eggert, Kristen Gustafson, Anthony Guyse, Skyler Hampshire, Eliza Kelly, Brianna Kintzel, Stephanie Nifong, Tyler Ramenda, Elise Rollins, Kolton Rudynski, Savannah Rudynski, Abby Schumacher, and Jacob Stokes.