Disney named district I superintendent of the year

 Dr. Steven C. Disney Jr. named District I Superintendent of the Year
HAMLET – Dr. Steven C. Disney Jr., superintendent of Oregon-Davis School Corporation, was chosen by members of the Indiana Association of Public School Superintendents as the 2012 District I Superintendent of the Year.
Winners are chosen by other superintendents in their district who consider the qualifications and accomplishments of area colleagues and their ability to exert instructional leadership using limited resources. One of the seven district winners will represent Indiana in the American Association of School Administrators National Superintendent of the Year program.
Disney has served as Oregon-Davis School Corporation’s superintendent since 2007. Prior to becoming superintendent, he served as an assistant principal in Valparaiso Community Schools for five years and as a principal in the Kankakee Valley School Corporation.
During Disney’s tenure as superintendent, the graduation rate at Oregon-Davis School Corporation has increased from 74 percent to 91.5 percent in a county with the second highest poverty rate in the state of Indiana. The district also opened Oregon-Davis New Tech High School in 2010. Faced with a 35 percent increase in health insurance costs, the district reduced its premiums by 15 percent and increased benefits by seeking admission to an insurance trust.  During a 10-month period in 2008, the district raised $345,000 through private donations and grants and Disney led the corporation in a $4 million bond project which upgraded facilities and the technology infrastructure.
Disney is a graduate of Ball State University and earned his master’s and doctoral degrees at Indiana State University.
District I Northwest includes:  Fulton, Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Newton, Porter, Pulaski and Starke counties.