Councilmen take oaths of office

By Carol Anders

PLYMOUTH — The Plymouth Common Council has three new members, but all three are familiar faces from the community.
Shawn Grobe, Duane Culp and Don Ecker along with returning members Mike Delp and Wayne Smith were officially sworn in Monday night by Judge Dean Colvin.
Grobe and Ecker have been serving on the Redevelopment Commission and Culp is a long-time officer with the Marshall County Sheriff’s Department.
The council elected Mike Delp as President Pro-Tempore on a vote of 4-0-1, with Delp abstaining.
Judge Colvin also administered the oath of office to Mayor Mark Senter, Clerk-Treasurer Toni Hutchings and City Attorney Nelson Chipman. Senter is beginning his second term as Mayor of Plymouth and Hutchings is starting her fifth term as Clerk-Treasurer. Chipman became the full-time city attorney last year.
Senter appointed Mike Miley and Nancy Feldy to the Redevelopment Commission as new members and re-appointed the current president Don Wendel.
Redevelopment will have election of officers at its monthly meeting Jan. 17. Meetings of the Redevelopment Commission are scheduled for the third Tuesday of each month.
Senter also appointed Culp, Grobe, Smith and Ecker to the Board of Pubic Works and Safety.
Delp was appointed as the Council representative to the Plymouth Plan Commission. Local resident Keith Wickens was appointed to the BZA (Board of Zoning Appeals). Both boards meet on the 1st Tuesday of each month. The Board of Public Works and Safety will continue to meet on the second and fourth Monday of each month at 6 p.m. followed by the Common Council at 6:30 p.m. The only two exceptions will be moving the May meeting to May 29 due to the Memorial Day holiday and the December meeting to Dec. 26 due to the Christmas holiday. The next regular meeting will be Jan. 11.
Meetings are open to the public; however, comments from the audience are limited to agenda items.