Community Foundation scholarship deadline

Parents and students are searching for ways to lessen the burden of paying for college and the Starke County Community Foundation offers many scholarships that help local families do just that.
There are more than 20 scholarships that have been created by people who believe in education and want to help local students. The opportunities for scholarship dollars are varied and cover a wide range of criteria. Whether a graduating senior, current college student, or non-tradition student there are scholarships available at the Community Foundation.
New scholarships for this year are the Altman Family Scholarship for students at North Judson-San Pierre High School, the James and Carris Lucas Scholarship for Knox High School and Physicians Hospital System Visionary Scholarship which will provide one scholarship for a Starke County student and also one for a Marshall County student.
Many scholarships bear familiar local names such as Brooklyn Boo, LaVergne Brown, Lois Spenner, the Cunningham Family, Helen and Ware Edgar, Richard H. Gumz, Runkle Family, Eleanor Hamblin, Ed Hasnerl, WKVI, Nella Kersting, Clarence Lawrence, Ken Lucas, Megan Sahlhoff, Winifred Simpkins, Starke Memorial Hospital, Toth Family, Christine and David VanVactor, Charley Vorm, Knox VFW Post 748 and Robert and Doris Winters.
Applications, specific criteria and instructions can be found online at and at all area high school guidance departments, including Marshall County High Schools. The deadline is March 12.
Those with scholarship questions or for more information about the Community Foundation contact Alison Heyde, scholarship coordinator for the Northern Indiana Community Foundation toll free at 1-877-432-6423.