Bremen schools receive grant

BREMEN – A $6 million grant will be distributed among the best teachers at 28 school corporations across the state of Indiana – including those at Bremen Public Schools.
Recipients of Indiana’s $6 million “Excellence in Performance for Teachers” grant were announced by April 19 during a Statehouse ceremony.
Bremen Public Schools will be awarded $101,641 to reward and recognize teaching excellence. The financial rewards will be distributed to teachers in 2013 based on the compensation plan developed in partnership by school administrators and the BEA (Bremen Education Association), which includes the teacher evaluation process.
“Great teachers change lives,” Dr. Bennett said. “This grant program lets us support schools in their efforts to identify, develop, recruit and retain highly effective teachers. There is a dramatic culture shift happening in our schools. Teachers and school leaders are working together to build evaluation and compensation systems that reflect our unwavering commitment to excellent instruction for Indiana’s students. This program lets us highlight those who are leading this charge.”
The “Excellence in Performance for Teachers” grant was established by the Indiana General Assembly during the 2011 legislative session in an effort to help school corporations and charter schools recruit and retain effective educators. Applications featured performance and compensation systems aligned to new state laws requiring schools to differentiate teacher performance, provide meaningful feedback to help all teachers improve, and financially reward their best teachers.
The Bremen Public Schools grant-writing committee included the following staff members: Sabrina Wickens, Rhonda McIntyre, Dawn Korra, Kristi Monesmith, Angela Balsley, Emily Tracy, Larry Yelaska, Holly Heller and Russ Mikel. In addition, Tony Davis of McREL assisted with the grant.
BPS Superintendent Russ Mikel was pleased to learn that Bremen was included in the list of recipients.
“I think it gives the corporation another opportunity to recognize and reward effective and highly effective teachers,” Mikel said.